NOTE: You are viewing the March 1, 2014 revision of The Rules of Flat Track Roller Derby, which is officially retired.
The current version of the rules can be found at Rules Central.
A Jammer may transfer their position to their team’s Pivot, allowing said Pivot to become the point-scoring skater for their team for the remainder of the jam. This is commonly referred to as “Passing the Star”. Only the position of Jammer, and not the status of Lead Jammer, may be transferred to the Pivot. A Pivot-turned-Jammer can score points, but cannot gain Lead Jammer status.
2.5.1 - Pass Procedure: In order to transfer the Jammer position to the Pivot, a Jammer must hand their helmet cover (the “Star”) to the Pivot. (Removing the Star will make the Jammer inactive; see Section 2.3.3) The Pivot must be grasping the Star when the Jammer releases it. Upon the Jammer releasing the Star, the Pivot will be considered the Jammer, and the prior Jammer will be considered a Blocker. They retain these new roles until the end of the jam.
126.96.36.199 - The Jammer status may only be transferred by a Jammer who releases the Star while in the Engagement Zone, to a Pivot who is also within the Engagement Zone. It is illegal to transfer the Star while either the Jammer or Pivot is outside of the Engagement Zone, down, or out of bounds. This applies only to the moment of transfer (i.e., the Jammer’s release of the Star into the grasping Pivot’s hand).
188.8.131.52 - All rules regarding inactive Jammers apply. The initial Jammer is inactive as soon as they have removed the Star, and the Pivot-turned-Jammer is inactive until they have put the Star on with the stars visible.
184.108.40.206 - Jammer status may not be transferred by handing off the Star via other skaters, or throwing or dropping the Star.
220.127.116.11 - Jammers may not pass the Star to a Pivot who has been directed to or is in queue for the Penalty Box.
2.5.2 - If the Star is passed illegally, the Jammer status is not transferred, even if the Pivot has sole possession of the Star. Both skaters retain their original status, and the initiator of the pass is penalized accordingly (see Section 5.13 - Illegal Procedures).
2.5.4 - Incomplete Star Passes and Recovery: If the Star falls to the ground for any reason or is removed from play by any means, it may only be recovered by the Jammer or Pivot.
18.104.22.168 - If the Pivot recovers the Star in this manner, the Pivot may not place it on their own helmet. Doing so shall be considered illegal initiation of a Star Pass. The Pivot may return it to the inactive Jammer via a hand-off, throwing, or dropping, but not via other skaters.
22.214.171.124 - When the inactive Jammer is once again grasping the Star, said Jammer may immediately release it back into possession of the Pivot, so long as the other requirements of Section 2.5.1 are met. Such an action constitutes a valid transfer of Jammer status.
126.96.36.199 - If a Star Pass cannot be completed for any reason, the Jammer may return the Star to their own helmet and regain active Jammer status.
2.5.5 - A Pivot who has just become the Jammer is now subject to all rules per Section 7 - Scoring. The Pivot picks up where the previous Jammer left off (i.e., on the same pass, having scored points on the same Blockers during that pass).
©2014 Women’s Flat Track Derby Association (WFTDA). The Rules of Flat Track Roller Derby may not be reproduced or translated in whole or in part in any manner without the permission of the WFTDA.
Real. Strong. Athletic. Revolutionary.
Copyright © 2009–2019 Women’s Flat Track Derby Association (WFTDA). Site by Spenlen Media.
All photos and content on this website are copyrighted by their respective creators. Please do not reproduce, print, or use any photos in any context without the express written permission of the WFTDA.