2010 Tournament Participants Announced

August 2, 2010

40 roller derby teams learned that they have a shot at being the 2010 Women’s Flat Track Derby Association Champions. With the opening whistle of WFTDA playoff season just weeks away, the brackets for the four regional playoffs are now set.

Over a four-week period, the top 10 teams in each of the four WFTDA regions will compete for a chance to advance to the fourth annual WFTDA Championship Tournament, Nov. 5-7 in Chicago, IL. The first, second and third place teams from each region – East, North Central, South Central and West – earn a spot at the championships.

In addition to the do-or-die, single-elimination bracket that allows teams to qualify for the Championships, the regional tournaments will also feature “consolation” matches to facilitate accurate ranking within each region.

Teams qualified for the regional tournaments based on the most recent WFTDA rankings. The second quarter rankings include games played through June 30, 2010.

Find out which leagues will be competing!

Stay tuned to our Big 5 Tournaments page in the WFTDA Community section for everything you need to know about this year’s playoffs!

Real. Strong. Athletic. Revolutionary.