Windy City Rollers Before the Game

May 31, 2010

First established in Chicago in the 1930s, roller derby has gone through several incarnations.

It has recently risen in popularity again thanks in part to A&E's television show Rollergirls and the 2009 Drew Barrymore film Whip It. Leagues have started to pop up all across the country once again.

The original all-female roller derby league in Chicago is and was started by Elizabeth Gomez,who is better known by her alter ego, Juanna Rumble, and Kelly Simmons - also known as Sister Sledgehammer. The league is made up of four teams who do battle with each other as they vie for the Ivy King Cup. The best players from each of the aforementioned teams join forces and play for a traveling All-Star team called the Windy City Rollers who travel across the country challenging teams from a number of major cities.

For the full story, please visit

Real. Strong. Athletic. Revolutionary.